GOVERNMENT 77

submitted to the House of Commons early in July 1973. After debate in the House of Commons it was agreed to suspend the readjustment until January 1, 1975. To this effect, Bill C-208 "Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Suspension Act" was given Royal Assent on July 27, 1973.

On December 20, 1974 Royal Assent was given to the Representation Act, 1974 which removes the temporary suspension of the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act and provides for representation in the House of Commons under a revised formula whereby the number of seats awarded each province is as follows: Ontario 95, Quebec 75, Nova Scotia 11, New Brunswick 10, Manitoba 14, British Columbia 28, Prince Edward Island four, Saskatchewan 14, Alberta 21, Newfoundland seven, the Northwest Territories two and the Yukon Territory one. The revised number of members in the House of Commons is now 282.

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the 30 general elections since Confederation is given in Table 3.3. Historical data concerning representation may be

found in the 1973 Canada Year Book.

Salaries, allowances and pensions. Members of the Senate and House of Commons receive a sessional allowance at the rate of \$24,000 per annum. In addition, for each session of Parliament, they may be paid such travelling expenses between their place of residence or constituency and Ottawa as may be required for the performance of their duties. Senators receive an annual expense allowance of \$5,300 and members of the House of Commons receive an expense allowance of \$10,600 to \$14,475 dependent upon the electoral district represented; neither is subject to income tax and is payable monthly. Members of the House of Commons may receive up to \$7,200 annually for the payment of staff in their constituency, and up to \$2,400 annually for rental of premises in their constituency. The member of the Senate occupying the recognized position as Leader of the Government in the Senate is paid, in addition to his sessional allowance, an annual allowance of \$13,300 and the member of the Senate occupying the recognized position as Opposition Leader in the Senate is paid, in addition to his sessional allowance, an annual allowance of \$8,000; but if the Leader of the Government is in receipt of a salary under the Salaries Act the annual allowance is not paid. The remuneration of the Prime Minister is \$33,300 a year and of a Cabinet Minister and the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons \$20,000 a year in addition to the sessional and expense allowances each receives as a member of Parliament. A Minister without portfolio is paid \$7,500 a year in addition to the sessional and expense allowances; the latter is not taxable. The Chief Government Whip, the Chief Opposition Whip, the Opposition House Leader and each leader of a party having a recognized membership of 12 or more in the House of Commons, other than the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition, receives an annual allowance of \$5,300 in addition to the above-noted sessional allowance. In addition to sessional and expense allowances, the Speaker of the Senate receives a salary of \$12,000 per annum, and the Speaker of the House of Commons receives a salary of \$20,000 per annum. The Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons receives a salary of \$8,000 per annum. The Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons are also entitled to \$3,000 in lieu of residence and the Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons an allowance of \$1,500 in lieu of residence; these allowances are not taxable. The Deputy Chairman of Committees receives an annual allowance of \$5,300. Parliamentary secretaries to Ministers of the Crown receive an annual allowance of \$5,300 a year, in addition to their sessional and expense allowances. A motor vehicle allowance of \$2,000 is paid to each Minister of the Crown and to the recognized Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons, and a motor vehicle allowance of \$1,000 is paid to the Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons; these allowances are not taxable.

A member of Parliament contributes, by reservation, 7.5% of his sessional indemnity toward his retirement allowance, which is based on the average of the sessional indemnity received over the best consecutive six years of his pensionable service accumulated as follows: 3.5% of this six-year average for each of the first 10 years of pensionable service; 3% of this average for each of the next 10 years; 2% of this average for each of the next five years; and 2% of this average for each of the years of pensionable service earned by his contributions from salary for extra duties performed as a Minister, etc.; subject to an over-all maximum of 75% of that best six-year average. Survivor's benefits are as follows: 60% of the member's pension entitlement to the widow or widower; if there is a surviving parent, 10% of the